22.6 C
Friday, July 19, 2024

Women’s Asia Cup: India crush Pakistan by 7 wickets

Srinagar: Continuing its dominance, Indian womens cricket...

They should have dropped him: Ex-captain on Shaheen Afridi’s misconduct

Srinagar: Former Pakistan cricketer Salman Butt has...

Mayank Yadav stuns everyone with Raw pace; fans compare with Umran Malik

Srinagar: India has found new fast bowling sensation who has left everyone spellbound with his raw pace. The Mayank Yadav bowled fastest delivery of IPL 2024 dueing LSG vs PBKS match on Saturday.

On his debut appearance in Indian Premier League (IPL), Mayank Yadav of Lucknow Super Giants delivered a 155.8 kmph thunderbolt to leave Punjab Kings captain Shikhar Dhawan “surprised” in the IPL 2024 clash at the Ekana Stadium.

Yadav won the match for LSG, picking three wickets in his sensational spell as Lucknow claimed their maiden victory this season.

The 21-year-old, who missed the Ranji Trophy season earlier this season owing to an injury, fired nine 150-plus deliveries, picked three wickets, and conceded 27 runs, as LSG bounced back strongly in the match to defend 199 at home.

Mayank’s 155.8 kmph scorcher in the 12th over of the second innings, is the fastest deliveries bowled this season.

Here is full list of fastest deliveries in IPL 2024:
155.8 kmph – Mayank Yadav – LSG vs PBKS

153.9 kmph – Mayank Yadav – LSG vs PBKS

153.4 kmph – Mayank Yadav – LSG vs PBKS

153 kmph – Nandre Burger – RR vs DC

152.3 kmph – Gerald Coetzee – MI vs SRH

151.2 kmph – Alzarri Joseph – RCB vs KKR

150.9 kmph – Matheesha Pathirana – CSK vs GT

Soon everyone started comparing him with another pace sensation of India, Umran Malik.
Though LSG speedster certainly made to the list of fastest-ever deliveries bowled in IPL history, but his 155.8 kmph effort stands sixth, just behind Umran as the two remain the only Indian bowlers in 17 seasons of the league to record deliveries over 155 kmph. Umran did it twice, while Mayank achieved it once so far.

Fastest deliveries in IPL history:

Shaun Tait 157.71 kmph – 2011

Lockie Ferguson 157.3 kmph – 2022

Umran Malik 157 kmph – 2022

Anrich Nortje 156.22 kmph – 2020

Umran Malik 156 kmph – 2022

Mayank Yadav 155.8 kmph – 2024

Meanwhile pace legends Dale Steyn and Brett Lee have both hailed Mayank Yadav.

“155,8 KPH, Mayank Yadav where have you been hiding!,” Dale Steyn posted on X.

“India has just found its fastest bowler. Mayank Yadav! Raw pace .Very impressive,” Brett Lee wrote.


Check out other tags:

Trending Now