16.2 C
Wednesday, June 12, 2024

JKCA Announces Schedule and Details for Senior Men’s Trials Phase II

The Jammu & Kashmir Cricket Association (JKCA),...

PCB reveals monthly salary of Pakistan players

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has revealed...

ICC punishes Indian women’s team for skipping Pakistan matches

CricketICC punishes Indian women’s team for skipping Pakistan matches

  The International Cricket Council has not taken it too kindly that the Indian women’s team skipped all their three matches against Pakistan in the ICC women’s championship competition. India have now been docked all their six points against their arch-rivals.

The technical committee of the ICC said in a press statement on Wednesday that it was sensitive to the current state of relations between India and Pakistan, but concluded that the Board of Control for Cricket in India had not been able to establish ‘acceptable reasons’ for not participating in this series.
BCCI furious
“ICC is well aware that in prevailing situation where Indian soldiers are being martyred, the sentiment is dead against playing Pakistan. The chairman is well aware that we need government permission,” a furious senior BCCI official said on Wednesday, adds PTI.
“This is a move with ulterior motive trying to play into the hands of Pakistan. They would say if women can play so can men. But that won’t happen. If ICC does not backtrack, the men’s team in solidarity with our women’s team won’t play in Champions Trophy,” he added.
The matches, which were to be played between August 1 and October 31, 2016, were not formally scheduled and did not ultimately take place.
The ICC has ruled that Pakistan will be awarded two points for each of the three games and, in accordance with the ICC Women’s Championship playing conditions, India shall be considered to have scored 0 runs in each of the 50 overs in each of the three matches and that its net run rate shall be adjusted accordingly.
This decision means that there will be no change to the current standings on the ICC Women’s Championship Points Table, with India remaining in fifth position and Pakistan staying seventh.
The teams that have automatically qualified for the ICC Women’s World Cup, to be played in England from 26 June 26, 2017 to July 23, 2017 are Australia, England, New Zealand and the West Indies.
India, South Africa, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will join Bangladesh, Ireland, Zimbabwe, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Thailand in the Women’s World Cup Qualifier, to be played in Sri Lanka from 7-21 February 7-21, 2017, where the top four placed teams will progress to the Women’s World Cup.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles