8.8 C
Tuesday, April 16, 2024

WATCH: Abdul Samad blasts 37* off 10 with Strikerate of 370 vs RCB

Srinagar: J&K superstar cricketer Abdul Samad unleashed...

47 Crores on Bench as RCB drop Maxwell, Siraj, others vs SRH

Srinagar: Cricketer Abhinav Mukund made a light...

Shaheen Afridi set to miss first 2 T20Is vs New Zealand

Srinagar: In a major setback to Pakistan...

2500 cyclists turn up for JKP’s Cycle Race, LG gives away prizes 

Local2500 cyclists turn up for JKP's Cycle Race, LG gives away prizes 

Srinagar:  Jammu and Kashmir Police organized its annual mega Sports event “Cycle Race-2023 (Pedal for Peace) in Srinagar this morning. The race was divided into eight different categories wherein over 2500 cyclists participated.

Prizes worth rupees seven lakh distributed besides raffle draw worth rupees one lakh drawn on spot for registered participants. Asian Games probable International players from Manipur, Shimla, Jhansi, Leh besides J&Ks national and international cyclists participated in the event.

 Lieutenant Governor of the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir who was the Chief Guest presided over flag in (award ceremony) and distributed prizes among the winners of different categories and raffle draw winners.

Advisor to  LG R R Bhatnagar, FC Home (ACS) R K Goyal, Special DG Crime J&K,  A K Choudhary, ADGsP M K Sinha,   Vijay Kumar, Director General Fire & Emergency Services J&K Alok Kumar, IG BSF Ashok Yadav, Director ACB Shri Anand Jain, Chairman, JKLFC, Vikramjit Singh,  Div Com Kashmir V K Bidhuri, DIsG Sujit Kumar, Rayees Mohammad Bhat, Shri Shahid Mehraj and Abdul Qayoom, SSP Srinagar, AIsG of PHQ, Kashmir based AP/IRP Commandants, officers from civil administration, jurisdictional officers and large number of people witnessed the presentation ceremony.

Speaking on the occasion the DGP welcomed the Chief Guest LG, J&K,  Manoj Sinha and expressed his gratitude for gracing the occasion despite his busy schedules & engagements. He also welcomed Advisor to LG, R. R. Bhatnagar, FC Home (ACS) R. K. Goyal, the senior officers of Police, Civil administration, people and the participants for making today’s event a grand success. He congratulated ADGP Armed J&K, his team, JK Cycling Association and other associated teams for organizing this event. 

The DGP said this event is becoming more and more interesting and added that the number of participants is growing gradually each passing year. He said that peace marches on foot were held in the past and are still being held, adding that the slogan “Pedal for Peace” gives more strength to speed up the movement for securing more peace in quick time. He further said that the huge participation is a witness that expresses the desire of each of us to strengthen the environment of peace further, and to get rid of the remnant anti national elements. He congratulated & welcomed all participants for becoming part of Pedal for peace mission.

In the morning ADGP Armed J&K SJM Gillani flanked by DIG Armed Kashmir Shahid Mehraj, DIG IRP Kashmir Abdul Qayoom and Commandants of Kashmir based Armed as well as IRP battalions flagged off the different categories of cyclists from Lalit Ghat, Police Golf Course, Srinagar.

Cycle Race-2023 (Pedal for Peace) event was open for all and was organized in eight different categories viz Senior (Men) above 17 years (ATB) Professional Cyclists, Senior (Men) above 17 years (MTB) Cyclists, Senior Girls above 17 years (MTB) Cyclists, Junior Girls under 17 years (MTB) Cyclists, Jr. Boys under 17 years (MTB) Cyclists, Sub-Junior (Boys) under 14 years (MTB) Cyclists, Sub-Junior (Girls) under 14 years (MTB) Cyclists and veterans above 45 years (MTB) cyclists took part in the event.

1st Category Senior Men above 17 years (ATB) Professional cyclists 1st prize was bagged by Adil Altaf of Srinagar Chest No.29 ₹50,000/-, 2nd by Adnan Bashir of Sopore Chest No.22  ₹30,000/-, 3rd by Waheed Ahmad of Budgam Chest No.13 ₹25,000/, 4th by Ritesh of Haryana Chest No.30 ₹15,000/-, and 5th by Suhaib ul Mehraj of Srinagar Chest No.23 ₹10,000.

2nd Category Winners among Senior Men above 17 years (MTB) cyclists are 1st Mohd Akbar Khan of Magam Chest No.390 ₹30,000/-, 2nd Ronel Kh of Manipur Chest No.506 ₹25,000/-, 3rd Avnesh Pareek of Rajasthan Chest No.316 ₹20,000/-, 4th Parwez of Budgam Chest No.399 ₹15,000/-, and 5th Prithvi Raj Singh of Madhya Pradesh Chest No.313 ₹10,000.

3rd  Category Winners among Senior Girls above 17 years (MTB) cyclists are 1st Prabhjyot Kour of Haryana Chest No.623 ₹30,000/-, 2nd Mehak Gupta of Amritsar Chest No.626 ₹25,000/-, 3rd Sara of Srinagar Chest No.609 ₹20,000/-, 4th Priyanka of Haryana Chest No.621 ₹15,000/-, and 5th Wafa Arif of Srinagar Chest No.619 ₹10,000.

4th  Category Winners among Junior Girls under 17 years (MTB) cyclists are 1st Zoobiya Tariq of Lal Bazar Chest No.710 ₹20,000/-, 2nd Soliha Zahoor of Ganderbal Chest No.701  ₹15,000/-, 3rd Madeha Mukhtar of Chattabal Chest No.706  ₹10,000/-, 4th Adika Zehra of Srinagar Chest No 707 ₹5,000/- and 5th Farheena Afroza of Kulgam Chest No.721 ₹3,000.

5th  Category Winners among Junior Boys under 17 years (MTB) cyclists are 1st  Jehangir Ahmad Ahanger of Budgam Chest No.962 ₹20,000/-, 2nd Parvaiz Ahmad Mir of Budgam Chest No.914  ₹15,000/-, 3rd Moin Nabi Bhat of Srinagar Chest No.966  ₹10,000/-, 4th Wasif Ahmad Bhat of Srinagar Chest No 965  ₹5,000/-, and 5th Umar Mohi Ud Din Chest No.937 ₹3,000.

6th Category Winners among Sub Junior Boys under 14 years (MTB) cyclists 1st Arfat Bashir of Baramulla Chest No. 1459 ₹20,000/-, 2nd Tajamul Rashid of Budgam Chest No. 1647 ₹15,000/-, 3rd Ikhlak Hussain Mir of Budgam Chest No. 1446 ₹10,000/-, 4th Shah Sahil Manzoor of Srinagar Chest No. 1709 ₹5,000/-, 5th Yasir Furqan of Budgam Chest No. 1485 ₹3,000/-, 6th Faisal Gull of Budgam Chest No. 1715 ₹1,000/-, 7th Kirtan Singh of Jammu Chest No. 1613 ₹1,000/-, 8th Aakif Noor of Budgam Chest No. 1519 ₹1,000/-, 9th Haseeb Jan of Srinagar Chest No. 1414 ₹1,000/- and 10th Muntazir Ali Matoo of Srinagar Chest No. 1532 ₹1,000/-.

7th Category Winners among Sub Junior Girls under 14 years (MTB) cyclists 1st Yumnna Parvaz of Srinagar Chest No. 1839 ₹20,000/-, 2nd Farah Ahad of Srinagar Chest No. 1806 ₹15,000/-, 3rd Nabila Khan of Srinagar Chest No. 1830 ₹10,000/-, 4th Syed Mania of Srinagar Chest No. 1864 ₹5,000/-, 5th Taqwa of Srinagar Chest No. 11836 ₹3,000/-, 6th Muntaha Javaid of Srinagar Chest No. 1812 ₹1,000/-, 7th Rayeesa  Zehra of Srinagar Chest No. 1817 ₹1,000/-, 8th Sifah Showkat of Srinagar Chest No. 1840 ₹1,000/-, 9th Wani Insha of Ganderbal Chest No. 1855 ₹1,000/- and 10th Wani Iqra of Ganderbal Chest No. 1856 ₹1,000/-.

8th Category Winners among Veteran (Men) above 45 years (MTB) cyclists 1st Faheem Ali of Srinagar. Chest No.2007 ₹15000/-, 2nd Dr. Sheikh Tariq of Lalbazar Sgr. Chest No.2006 ₹10,000/-, 3rd Muzafar Ahmad of Srinagar Chest No.2029 ₹5,000/-, 4th Asif Maqbool of Srinagar Chest No.2019 ₹3,000/- and 5th Parvaiz Ahmad of Srinagar Chest No.2012 ₹2,000/-.

Raffle draw winners 1st Prize to Azan Ashiq of Srinagar Chest No. 918, 2nd Prize Irfan Ali Kanoo of Srinagar Chest No.394 and 3rd Prize went to Chest No.966 Mumin Nabi Bhat.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles