10.1 C
Srinagar
Thursday, April 18, 2024

Hafeez slams team selection for T20I series vs New Zealand

Srinagar: Former Pakistan cricketer and recently team...

WATCH: 3rd Umpire Makes HUGE Mistake in Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka match

VideosWATCH: 3rd Umpire Makes HUGE Mistake in Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka match

A controversial third-umpire decision has once again marred the Bangladesh-Sri Lanka cricket rivalry.

During the second T20I in Sylhet, with Bangladesh chasing a target of 166, opener Soumya Sarkar was adjudged caught behind by the on-field umpire off Binura Fernando’s bowling. However, replays on UltraEdge showed a faint edge, and the decision went upstairs for review.

To the surprise of the Sri Lankan players, the third umpire overturned the on-field decision, declaring Sarkar not out. This sparked heated discussions between the Sri Lankans and the umpires, as Sarkar went on to contribute 26 runs in a crucial opening partnership that set the foundation for Bangladesh’s eight-wicket victory.

This incident adds to the already charged atmosphere surrounding the Bangladesh-Sri Lanka rivalry. Last year’s World Cup encounter between the two sides, with no bearing on semifinal qualification, saw another controversial moment with Angelo Mathews’ timed out dismissal. The article even mentions the infamous “Naagin dance” celebration from the 2018 Nidahas Trophy, highlighting the history of controversy between the teams.

The series finale on Saturday promises to be a thrilling affair, fueled by the ongoing tension and past controversies.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles