17.4 C
Tuesday, June 18, 2024

Pakistan’s fourth-innings high

CricketPakistan's fourth-innings high

10 Consecutive Tests lost by Pakistan in Australia – the most by any team away. The record was previously held by two teams: India from 1948 to 1977 and West Indies from 2000 to 2009 – also in Australia.

308 Difference in Pakistan’s totals in this match – 142 in first innings and 450 in the second. It is their third highest in a Test. Their highest difference was in Bridgetown in 1957-58, when they made 657 for 8 in the second innings after being bundled out for 106 in the first.

2 Number of bigger fourth-innings totals in Tests than Pakistan’s 450 in this match. The highest is England’s 654 for 5 in the timeless Test in Durban in 1938-39. Pakistan’s previous highest was 382 for 3 against Sri Lanka in Pallekele last year, when they chased down 377.

39 Margin of defeat for Pakistan – the second lowest for a team after making more than 400 while chasing. The lowest is New Zealand’s 38-run defeat after they made 440 at Trent Bridge in 1973. Overall, this is Pakistan’s fifth narrowest defeat while chasing.4th-inning-high

1988 The last time Australia lost a Test at the Gabba, against West Indies. Since then in 28 Tests, they have won 22 and drawn six.

230 Runs added by Pakistan’s last four wickets – the most for any team while chasing. The previous highest was 227 by India at Lord’s in 2002. Pakistan had three fifty-plus partnerships in those four wickets, which is the first such instance for a chasing team. It was also the first time Pakistan had three fifty-plus stands among their last four wickets in any match.

113 The previous top score by an individual in the fourth innings at the Gabba, Sunil Gavaskar in 1977-78 and Sherwin Campbell in 1996-97. Asad Shafiq bettered that with his 137 in this match.

2 Higher scores for a player batting at No. 6 or lower while chasing than Shafiq’s 137. Adam Gilchrist made unbeaten 149 at No. 7 against Pakistan in Hobart in 1999-00 and Daniel Vettori 140 at No. 8 in Colombo (SSC) in 2009.

Bharath Seervi is stats sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo. @SeerviBharath

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles