5.6 C
Wednesday, December 6, 2023

Glenn Maxwell eyes return to Test cricket for Australia

Srinagar: Fresh from his heroics in ICC...

‘If you want to pick me for T20 World Cup, tell me now’: Rohit Sharma to BCCI

Srinagar: India skipper Rohit Sharma has reportedly...

Pakistan squad for World Cup 2023 ANNOUNCED 

CricketPakistan squad for World Cup 2023 ANNOUNCED 

Srinagar: The highly awaited Pakistan cricket team squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 in India was announced on Friday.

As expected pacer Naseem Shah is not part of the squad with Hassan Ali replacing him.

The squad was announced by Chief Selector Inzamam ul Haq in a press conference in Lahore on Friday.

Naseem Shah injured himself during his team’s Super Four encounter against India in the Asia Cup, and is set to miss plenty of action in the upcoming months.

His loss is a major blow to the Pakistan side, given his capability to get the ball to zip around. He also has an exceptional ODI record, with 32 wickets at an average of 16.96 with two five-fors in ODI cricket.

However, there are enough experienced names in the Pakistan roster to boost their title chances. 

Supporting Babar on the batting front are Fakhar Zaman, Imam-Ul-Haq, Mohammed Rizwan, Iftikhar Ahmed, and Salman Agha. Also in the mix are the young duo of Mohammed Haris and middle-order batter Saud Shakeel.

Haris led Pakistan ‘Shaheens’ in their successful Emerging Asia Cup 2023 campaign, while Shakeel has shown his calibre in Test cricket.

Pakistan are also equipped with two spin-bowling all-rounders in Shadab Khan and Mohammed Nawaz. Salman Agha and Iftikhar Ahmed are also available as spin-bowling all-rounders. Usama Mir is another leg-spin option available to the Pakistan side should the need arise. 

Pakistan’s pace attack will be led by Shaheen Shah Afridi. Backing him will be Haris Rauf, Mohammed Waseem and Hasan Ali.

Pakistan’s World Cup squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan (vc), Fakhar Zaman, Imam Ul Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Rizwan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Agha Salman, Saud Shakeel, Mohammad Nawaz, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Usama Mir, Mohammad Wasim Jr  

Traveling Reserves: Abrar Ahmed, Zaman Khan, Mohammad Haris.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles