8.8 C
Tuesday, April 16, 2024

WATCH: Abdul Samad blasts 37* off 10 with Strikerate of 370 vs RCB

Srinagar: J&K superstar cricketer Abdul Samad unleashed...

47 Crores on Bench as RCB drop Maxwell, Siraj, others vs SRH

Srinagar: Cricketer Abhinav Mukund made a light...

Shaheen Afridi set to miss first 2 T20Is vs New Zealand

Srinagar: In a major setback to Pakistan...

Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe highlight nominees for best FIFA Player Award

InternationalFootballLionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe highlight nominees for best FIFA Player Award

Srinagar: Argentina FIFA World Cup winning skipper Lionel Messi and French Superstar Kylian Mbappe are among the names as FIFA unveiled its nominations for the  FIFA’s The Best award for last year.

Messi, who has won the prize once before, captained Argentina to victory in Qatar, a career-defining triumph that has boosted his chances of winning an eighth Ballon d’Or but may also make him favourite for this prize. As well as Mbappe, who netted a hat-trick in the World Cup final, another two Paris Saint-Germain players are nominated in Neymar and Achraf Hakimi.

However, Portugal star Cristiano Ronaldo has not been nominated.

Karim Benzema, who won last year’s Ballon d’Or for his performances with Real Madrid, is also nominated, as is Robert Lewandowski, winner of the FIFA prize in the last two years. The list of nominees is completed by Manchester City’s Julian Alvarez, Kevin De Bruyne and Erling Haaland; the Real Madrid pair of Luka Modric and Vinicius Junior; Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Jude Bellingham.

Alexia Putellas is nominated for the women’s award despite being out for the last six months due to injury. The Barcelona and Spain midfielder won the award last year and retained the Ballon d’Or in October.

Arsenal striker Beth Mead, runner-up to Putellas for the Ballon d’Or, is also nominated, as are two other members of the England team that won the European Championship on home soil in Leah Williamson and Keira Walsh.

There are also prizes for the best male and female coach, the best goalkeeper, and the Puskas Award for the best goal of 2022.

A public vote, open until February 3, will decide the three finalists in each category. The winner is then voted for by a jury made up of national team coaches and captains as well as journalists and fans.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles