23.2 C
Thursday, July 25, 2024

“Only thing left in Virat Kohli’s career is to tour Pakistan and perform”

Srinagar: Former Pakistan skipper Younis Khan has...

“Never Heard Of Them”: Babar Azam’s bat company on MS Dhoni

Srinagar: Renowed cricket equipment company that sponsors...

J&K emerges overall Champions in Senior National Pencak Silat Championship

Srinagar: J&K emerged as overall champions in the 12th Senior National Pencak Silat Championships for Men Women, which was held at Indoor stadium, KIIT University, Bhubaneswar- Odisha.

The 2024 edition of the Senior Pencak Silat Nationals was held from 10-13 June with participation from 39 States and Union Territories teams in both boys and girls with over 1100 Players took part in the mega tournament with new techniques and skills .

Players who performed well were taken the shortlisted in the Indian National Camps for the 5th Junior World Pencak Silat Championship 2024 and 20th Senior World Pencak Silat Championship 2024 which will be held at Abu-Dhabi,UAE as well as for the 6th Asian Indoor Games 2024 at Chonburi – Bangkok later from November 2024 under the banner of Olympic Council of Asia ( OCA ) , The Indian National teams will play under the flag of Indian Olympic Association.

Jammu and Kashmir teams emerged overall Champions/ winners with Gold: 8 , Silver : 4 , Bronze : 6 medals ,while as Host Odisha emerged as the runners up overall in the championship with Gold : 4 , Silver. : 2 , Bronze : 8 and Uttrakhand stood on the 3rd place in the total medal tally. This championship will also be followed by the 8th Pencak Silat Federation Cup 2024 which will be scheduled at Indoor stadium – Leh from 1st to 4th August 2024 and the best 8 teams qualified from the 12th Senior National Pencak Silat Championship will be eligible to participate in the grand event.

Sulata Deo Member of Parliament, Rajya sabha was the Chief guest ,
Sushree Dipali Das, Ex- MLA (chief Patron, PSAO), Sulochana Das (Mayor, Bhubaneswar), Laletendu Das (Ex-collector & Director KIIT & KISS), Ananta Narayan Jena (MLA, central Bhubaneswar
were guest of Honor and distribution of medals was made by the chief guest.

Tapas Kumar Roy Choudhary, President Pencak Silat Association- Odisha , Prem Singh Thapa, General Secretary Pencak Silat Association Odisha , kishor Prakash Yewale, President, Indian Pencak Silat Federation, Tariq Ahmad Zargar,Secretary General Mohammad Iqbal, Coach Team India, Irfan Aziz Botta, CEO Indian Pencak Silat Federation and other officers and officials were present on the occasion.

The Championship was organised by Pencak Silat Association Odisha under the aegis of Indian Pencak Silat Federation and under the banner of Ministry of Youth affairs and sports, Govt of India and Sports Authority of India.


Check out other tags:

Trending Now