36.8 C
Sunday, July 21, 2024

ICC announces record-breaking prize money for T20 World Cup

Srinagar: The winners of the T20 World Cup 2024 is going to receive a record breaking prize fund of $11.25 million USD , with the winners set to receive at least $2.45 million, the highest amount in the tournament’s history, ICC announced on Monday.

T20 World Cup 2024 is featuring 20 teams competing over 28 days across nine venues in the West Indies and the USA – the largest-ever competition.

The runners-up will earn at least $1.28 million, while the losing semi-finalists will take home $787,500 each. Teams that do not advance past the second round will receive $382,500 each, and those finishing between ninth and twelfth place will get $247,500 each

Teams ranking from 13th to 20th place will each get $225,000. Additionally, every team will receive an extra $31,154 for each match won, excluding the semi-finals and finals.

The tournament will start with 40 matches in the first round, leading to the Super 8s, followed by the semi-finals in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana. The final match will take place at the Kensington Oval in Barbados, where the 2024 men’s champions will be crowned.

ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice said, “This event is historic in so many ways, so it is fitting that the prize money for players reflects that. Hundreds of millions of fans around the world will be entertained by the players in what we’re hoping to be an Out of This World event.”

T20 World Cup 2024 groups
Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, United States

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal


Check out other tags:

Trending Now