20 C
Srinagar
Sunday, July 21, 2024

Huge Controversy on Rohit Sharma’s Super Over Retired Hurt

Srinagar: Huge Controversy has erupted in the Cricket World, over the Team India skipper Rohit Sharma’s decision to retire hurt himself in first super over and then batting in second super over vs Afghanistan.

In the third T20I vs Afghanistan while Rohit deservedly earned praise from for his brilliant performance, a decision of his in the first Super Over did trigger a huge debate.

With India needing 2 runs to win from the final ball of the first eliminator, Rohit decided to walk out, paving the way for Rinku Singh to replace him at the non-striker’s end. But, it wasn’t clarified whether he retired hurt or retired out.

Rohit then returned to the pitch for the second Super Over after Jaiswal failed to hit 2 runs off the final ball, as the scores were tied again. The question arose if Rohit was even eligible to come out to bat the next time.

According to ICC’s playing conditions for men’s T20Is, “[a]ny batsman dismissed in any previous Super Over shall be ineligible to bat in any subsequent Super Over.”

The controversy arose as the umpires are yet to provide clarity on whether Rohit was retired hurt or retired out. If Rohit was ‘retired hurt’, he is considered as “retired not out” and is eligible to bat again. But, if he was ‘retired out’, he wasn’t eligible to come out to bat for the second time.

Speaking at the post-match presentation ceremony, Rohit himself was overwhelmed having come out to bat three times in the match.

“I don’t remember when was the last time this happened. I think I batted 3 times in one of the IPL games,” he said.

ALSO READ

Check out other tags:

Trending Now