10 C
Thursday, April 18, 2024

Hafeez slams team selection for T20I series vs New Zealand

Srinagar: Former Pakistan cricketer and recently team...

BCCI increases cash prize for domestic tournaments; Rs 5 crore for Ranji Trophy winner 

CricketBCCI increases cash prize for domestic tournaments; Rs 5 crore for Ranji Trophy winner 

Srinagar: In a major announcement BCCI on Sunday announced a major hike in the prize money of domestic cricket tournaments. 

 According to the new pay structure, Ranji Trophy winners, who currently get a cheque of ₹2 crore, will be receiving ₹5 crore, while the runners-up and losing semifinalists will get ₹3 crores and ₹1 crore respectively.

“I’m pleased to announce an increase in prize money for all @BCCI Domestic Tournaments,” BCCI secretary Jay Shah said in a tweet.

“We will continue our efforts to invest in Domestic Cricket – which is the backbone of Indian Cricket. Ranji winners to get ₹5 crores (from 2 cr), Sr Women winners ₹50 lacs (from 6 lacs).”

The cash prize for Irani Cup too has been doubled with the winners getting 50 lakh instead of ₹25 lakh, and while the team finishing runners-up currently don’t receive any cash reward, they will get 25 lakh from now on.

In Duleep Trophy, the champions will get ₹1 crore and runners-up team will be receiving ₹50 lakh, while winners of Vijay Hazare Trophy will now be getting a cheque of ₹1 crore and the team finishing second best ₹50 lakh.

Deodhar Trophy winners are set to get richer by ₹40 lakh and the losing finalists will get ₹20 lakh. Similarly, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy champions will be receiving a cheque of ₹80 lakh and the losing team will get 40 lakh.

In a big boost to women’s cricket in the country, the winners of the Senior Women’s One Day trophy will get a cheque of ₹50 lakh and the runners-up side will receive ₹25 lakh.

The prize money of the senior women’s T20 trophy has also been increased with the winners set to get ₹40 lakh, eight times more than what they get now. The losing team will get ₹20 lakh.

Indian cricket’s 2023-24 domestic season will start with the Duleep Trophy tournament starting on June 28 while the flagship Ranji Trophy will commence from January 5 next year.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles