33.1 C
Thursday, July 25, 2024

“Only thing left in Virat Kohli’s career is to tour Pakistan and perform”

Srinagar: Former Pakistan skipper Younis Khan has...

“Never Heard Of Them”: Babar Azam’s bat company on MS Dhoni

Srinagar: Renowed cricket equipment company that sponsors...

BCCI Announces 125 Crore Prize Money for India’s T20 World Cup 2024 Victory

The BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) has announced a substantial prize for Team India following their triumphant win at the T20 World Cup 2024. India secured their second T20 World Cup title by defeating South Africa in the final on Saturday, June 29, at Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados.

Opting to bat first, the Men in Blue posted a formidable score of 176/7 in their allotted 20 overs, thanks to stellar performances by Virat Kohli (76 off 59) and Axar Patel (47 off 31). In response, South Africa managed 169/8 in their 20 overs, with Hardik Pandya (3/20), Arshdeep Singh (2/20), and Jasprit Bumrah (2/18) taking crucial wickets. India clinched the match by seven runs, ending their 11-year-long wait for an ICC trophy.

Following this historic win, BCCI secretary Jay Shah announced a generous prize of INR 125 Crore for the entire team, including players, coaches, and support staff. Jay Shah shared the announcement on his X account, congratulating the team for their remarkable achievement.

“I am pleased to announce prize money of INR 125 Crores for Team India for winning the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. The team has showcased exceptional talent, determination, and sportsmanship throughout the tournament. Congratulations to all the players, coaches, and support staff for this outstanding achievement!” wrote Jay Shah on his X account.

ICC Prize Money for Team India

The ICC (International Cricket Council) had earlier announced a record prize pool of $11.25 million for the T20 World Cup 2024. As the winners, India will receive $2.45 million (Rs 20.42 crores) along with added bonuses, the highest amount awarded in the tournament’s history. South Africa, the runner-up, will receive $1.28 million (Rs 10.67 crore). Additionally, teams earned an extra $31,154 (INR 25.97 lakh) for each match won, bringing the total ICC prize money for Team India to INR 22.63 Crore.

Key Highlights:

  • India wins T20 World Cup 2024: Defeats South Africa by seven runs.
  • Top Performers: Virat Kohli (76 off 59), Axar Patel (47 off 31), Hardik Pandya (3/20), Arshdeep Singh (2/20), Jasprit Bumrah (2/18).
  • BCCI Announcement: INR 125 Crore prize money for the entire team.
  • ICC Prize Money: $2.45 million (Rs 20.42 crores) for the winners, with additional match bonuses.


Check out other tags:

Trending Now