6 C
Saturday, March 2, 2024

Kieron Pollard Misses PSL Match to Attend Ambani Wedding

Karachi Kings all-rounder Kieron Pollard will miss...

SRH likely to appoint new captain for IPL 2024

Speculations swirl around Australian cricket star Pat...

Usman Khawaja asked to remove Dove Sticker in protest during Wellington Test

During the Wellington Test against New Zealand,...

All 20 teams confirmed for T20 World Cup 2024 in USA & West Indies

CricketAll 20 teams confirmed for T20 World Cup 2024 in USA & West Indies

Srinagar: With Uganda booking the final spot, all the 20 teams to feature in the historic T20 World Cup 2024 in USA and West Indies have been confirmed.

Following the recent results in the Africa Qualifier, the 20 teams for the tournament are finalised. Namibia and Uganda were the last two teams to book tickets, joining six other teams to come through regional qualifying.

Qualifying as hosts alongside the West Indies, the tournament will be a ground-breaking event for the USA, and the first global tournament appearance outside of a Champions Trophy in 2005.

The 20-team tournament proper in 2024 will work in two phases before the knockouts, though in a different framework from the First Round/Super 12 format at the 2021 and 2022 edition.

The top two teams in each of the four groups of five will move to a Super Eights phase, where the remaining sides split into two groups of four. The top two in each group will then make their way to the semi-finals.

As hosts, the West Indies and the USA took up the first two of spots for 2024. From there, performances at the 2022 edition, and before the November 14 ICC T20I rankings cut-off, determined the next 10 spots.

The top eight teams in Australia (top four in each Super 12 group) gained spots for the 2024 tournament, with Afghanistan and Bangladesh, the next best teams on the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings as of 14 November 2022, also securing their spot.

Team Path of Qualification

West Indies Hosts
USA Hosts

Australia 2022 T20WC top eight finish
England 2022 T20WC top eight finish
India 2022 T20WC top eight finish
Netherlands 2022 T20WC top eight finish
New Zealand 2022 T20WC top eight finish
Pakistan 2022 T20WC top eight finish
South Africa 2022 T20WC top eight finish
Sri Lanka 2022 T20WC top eight finish

Afghanistan Next best on T20I rankings (as of 14 November 2022)
Bangladesh Next best on T20I rankings (as of 14 November 2022)

The final eight spots for the 2024 tournament were decided in regional play.

Regional Qualifiers decide remaining teams
Moving away from the Global Qualifier framework, the 2024 tournament saw an added emphasis through regional action to determine final spots.
Africa, Asia and Europe had two qualification spots, with one spot for both the Americas and East-Asia Pacific regions.

Qualifying teams: Namibia and Uganda


Qualifying team: Canada


Qualifying teams: Nepal, Oman

East Asia-Pacific

Qualifying team: Papua New Guinea

Qualifying teams: Ireland, Scotland

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles