Srinagar: Afghanistan star cricketer Karim Janat has said that his side beleived that Team India captain Rohit Sharma shouldnt have been allowed to bat again in second Super Over.
India beat Afghanistan 3-0 in T20I series with last match turning out as ultimate thriller that involved two super overs after match was tied in alotted overs and first super over was also a tie.
Rohit Sharma produced a phenomenal performance smashing his career-best 121*.
The match took an unusual turn in the Super Over when Rohit Sharma made an unprecedented move, choosing to remove himself from the first over just before its final ball. With Yashasvi Jaiswal on strike and India needing 2 runs to win, Rohit voluntarily stepped aside to make way for the faster Rinku Singh, who was third in the batting order for the over. However, confusion arose over whether Rohit was retired out or retired hurt, triggering a debate over his status.
“We didn’t know much about that. Our management talked to the umpires. Rohit came out to bat, but we learned later that he shouldn’t have been allowed to do that. Even if you were retired out, you can’t come to bat again. We can’t do much about it now because what’s happened has happened. The captain and coach discussed about it later, but it was all between them,” Karim Janat was quoted by Hindustan Times on the sidelines of the DP World International League T20 (ILT20) in the UAE.
lAfghanistan’s coach, Jonathan Trott had also hinted at minimal communication between officials and the players as the whole episode panned out.
“I have no idea (whether Rohit retired hurt or out). Has there ever been two Super Overs? That’s what I am trying to say. We keep setting these new rules. What I am trying to say is we kept testing the rules, we kept testing the guidelines,” Trott had said in the post-match press meet.